iciHaiti - Jazz Festival : American and European journalists in Haiti

iciHaiti - Classical ballet : The finalists of the Youth America Grand Prix received by the PM

iciHaiti - Education : Threatened with sanctions some schools file their lists...

iciHaiti - Petit-Goâve : Anger of the small merchants against the town hall...

iciHaiti - World Bank: Presentation of the report on urbanization

more news

Haiti - News : Zapping...

Haiti - Economy : The DGI further increases its forecast of tax revenues...

Haiti - Tourism : Minister Menos meets the diaspora in Miami

Haiti - Politic : Inauguration of the new postal office of Delmas

Haiti - Politic : Check presentation ceremony to political parties

more news

Haiti - Diaspora : Kaytranada won the 2016 Polaris Prize for his album «99.9%»
22/09/2016 10:33:45

Haiti - Diaspora : Kaytranada won the 2016 Polaris Prize for his album «99.9%»
The "99.9%" album of Kaytranada (Louis Kevin Celestin) was declared winner of the Polaris Music Prize 2016. The unveiling of the $50,000 Prize was announced by Buffy Sainte-Marie, winner of the 2015 Polaris Music Prize, at the annual Gala that held Monday evening to Carlu in Toronto (Canada).

"For me, it’s crazy to get this award," said Kaytranada. "It’s really, truly, a big honour. It’s amazing. Ceci est pour Montréal, tous mes Montréalais. Shout outs to all of y’all. I want to thank the judges and everybody for voting for me. It’s an honour man, I don’t know what to say," stated moved Kaytranada

Learn more about Kaytranada (Louis Kevin Celestin) :
Born in Haiti and raised in the city of Montreal, the Canadian artist Kaytranada has experienced a meteoric rise in recent years with its irresistible productions and performances, but he did not however been successful overnight.

Before turning to the four corners of the globe and accumulate millions of tracks online with his songs and mix, the young man was a true disciple, assimilating the hip-hop culture and RnB since childhood while finding how to acquire this music and reinvent it.

This knowledge of musical history is felt in the sound found on his remarkable first album, "99.9%" released earlier this year and praised by critics.

The 11 members of the grand jury that determined the winner are : Adrien Begrand (freelance), Lisa Christiansen (CBC Radio One – Vancouver), Del Cowie (CBC Music), Howard Druckman (SOCAN Words & Music), Lana Gay (Indie 88), Carla Gillis (NOW Magazine), Andrew King (Canadian Musician), Lisa Lagace (Turn The Record Over), Trevor Risk (Ion Magazine), Joni Sadler (CKUT) and Fateema Sayani (Ottawa Magazine).

HL/ HaitiLibre

Twitter Facebook Rss Add to favorites
Send news to... Daily news...

Why HaitiLibre ? | Contact us | Français
Copyright © 2010 - 2018