iciHaiti - Football U-17 : Minister Régine Lamur congratulates and encourages our Grenadières

iciHaiti - Politic : 150 young students from Môle-Saint-Nicolas visit Parliament

iciHaiti - Security : Port-au-Prince prepares for hurricane season

iciHaiti - DR : More than 200 Haitians deported from the Provinces of San Cristóbal and Peravia

iciHaiti - DR : A Haitian assassinates a woman compatriot

more news

Haiti - News : Zapping...

Haiti - Army : Ineffective threats against false military

Haiti - Chile : A trafficking network of Haitian migrants dismantled

Haiti - Football : Members of Arcahaie FC savagely assaulted

Haiti - FLASH : Mgr Louis Kébreau resigns from the Steering Committee of the Estates General

more news

Haiti - NOTICE : Tsunami Warning Exercise (Caribe Wave 17)
20/03/2017 10:10:24

Haiti - NOTICE : Tsunami Warning Exercise (Caribe Wave 17)
A tsunami early warning exercise will take place in the countries bordering the Caribbean Sea on 21 March to assess and update their reactivity. The exercise will test the Tsunami and Other Coastal Hazards Warning System for the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions established in 2005 under the auspices of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC-UNESCO).

Which scenario will be used for CARIBE WAVE 2017 ?

For CARIBE WAVE 2017 three different scenarios will be simulated. Each country will choose the one that best fits their objectives. The first scenario simulates a magnitude 7.9 earthquake generated off the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. The second scenario is an 8.2 magnitude earthquake off the Southeastern coast of Cuba. The third scenario is a magnitude 8.5 earthquake Northeast of the Lesser Antilles.

The exercise will test three scenarios simulating separate earthquakes: one off the coast of Costa Rica, another off the coast of Cuba and a third northeast of the Lesser Antilles. It will feature fictitious messages sent by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre (PTWC) to the 48 countries and territories taking part in the exercise.

The initial message will be issued at 1400 UTC by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC) throughout all the regular broadcast channels to test communication systems and to start the exercise. Also, the PTWC will issue simulated messages for each of the scenarios to the UNESCO officially designated Tsunami Warning Focal Points (TWFPs) and National Tsunami Warning Centers. Each country and territory will decide if and how messages will be disseminated within its area of responsibility.

Known as Caribe Wave 17, the exercise will test the effectiveness of early warning provisions involving those responsible for the management of emergencies in the region, including national Tsunami Warning Focal Points, weather forecast centres, national coast guards, and emergency relief services. Interested countries will also be able to conducts tests at the local level.

Le's recall that over the last 500 years, 75 ocean tsunamis have occurred in the Caribbean, nearly 10% of the worldwide total over the same period. Tsunamis caused by earthquakes, landslides or volcanic activity have claimed more than 3,500 lives in the region since the middle of the 19th century (according to the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NOAA). The region has become ever more vulnerable to such risks due to massive population growth and the development of tourism in coastal areas.

The Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Tsunami and Other Coastal Hazards Warning System for the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions (ICG/CARIBE EWS) was established in 2005 to help Member States establish tsunami warning and response systems. It replicates the models of the Pacific, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean and Northeast Atlantic systems, created under the auspices of the IOC.

List of countries and territories members of CARIBE EWS :
Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Martinique, Guadeloupe, St Martin, French Guiana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Kingdom of the Netherlands (Aruba, Bonaire, Saba, Curaçao, St Eustatius and St Maarten) , Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

HL/ HaitiLibre

Twitter Facebook Rss
Send news to... Daily news...

Why HaitiLibre ? | Contact us | Français
Copyright © 2010 - 2018