Haiti - FLASH : Fritz Alphonse Jean elected President and Steven Benoit PM (Accord Montana) - HaitiLibre.com : Haiti news 7/7
Download the School calendar 2023-2024 (Official)

iciHaiti - Tribute : 100th anniversary of the birth of the painter Luce Turnier

iciHaiti - NOTICE : A counterfeit medicine is circulating in Haiti

iciHaiti - Education : Fight against violence in schools

iciHaiti - Diaspora : The Embassy of Haiti in Ottawa launched its first reading club

iciHaiti - Health Alert : Counterfeit drug

more news

Haiti - News : Zapping...

Haiti - Health : WHO alongside the Ministry of Public Health

Haiti - Justice : Judge Al Duniel Dimanche, called to order by the CSPJ

Haiti - Crisis : Situation in Haiti (February 2024)

Haiti - News : Zapping...

more news

Haiti - FLASH : Fritz Alphonse Jean elected President and Steven Benoit PM (Accord Montana)
31/01/2022 08:12:39

Haiti - FLASH : Fritz Alphonse Jean elected President and Steven Benoit PM (Accord Montana)
Sunday January 30, 2022, as part of the elections provided for in the Montana agreement (August 30, 2021 agreement) the 42 voting members of the National Transitional Council (CNT) out of 44 (after the withdrawal of Famni Lavalas https://www.haitilibre.com/en/news-35838-haiti-politic-famni-lavalas-withdraws-from-the-national-transition-committee-of-the-montana-agreement.html ) elected the President and the Prime Minister of the 2-year transitional government, which the signatories of this political agreement hope to put in place.

The Electoral Commission of the CNT declared winners of these elections :

The economist Fritz Alphonse Jean (65), former Governor of the Central Bank was elected as President of the transition with 25 votes cast against 15 votes for his opponent Edgard Leblanc Fils.

Former senator [2011-2017] Steven Irvenson Benoît (56) was elected as Prime Minister (in the second round) with 26 votes against his opponent Jean Hénold Buteau (14 votes).

January 31, 2022 is scheduled for disputes and the publication of the final results.

Following these elections, the National Memorandum of Understanding (PEN) will appoint a 2nd member (Fritz Alphonse Jean being the first member) and will ask the Prime Minister ai Ariel Henry to appoint a member of his agreement and finally two other members appointed by Civil Society will form the five-member of presidential college, according to Jacques Ted Saint-Dic, one of the officials of the Montana Accord Monitoring Office, stressing that if Ariel Henry refuses to leave power, it's the country who will decide...

Recall that Ariel Henry had declared on January 21 at an international conference on Haiti -la-crise-haitienne.html "The next tenant of the National Palace will be a President freely elected by all the Haitian people", which clearly suggests that he does not intend to give up his place for a political agreement wishing to install a transitional government...

Download the names of CNT members : https://www.haitilibre.com/docs/Conseil-National-de-Transition.pdf

Download the text of the agreement of August 30, 2021 (Montana) : https://www.haitilibre.com/docs/accord-30-08-2021.pdf

See also :

S/ HaitiLibre

Twitter Facebook Rss
Send news to... Daily news...

Why HaitiLibre ? | Contact us | Français
Copyright © 2010 - 2024